Posted by: brookenado | January 18, 2012

Hats off to being forgetful

Dear readers,

I realized this afternoon in class that I completely forgot to finish my story with my awesome, warm, green hat (beanie).  So I was still bummed about it walking back to my room, right?  Well I open the door, turn on the lights, deposit my purse and new print on my bed then go into the kitchen.  It isn’t until about 10 minutes later when I return to my room to grab my jacket, keys, and some money to run across the street to the Co-op to get mustard and ketchup for our burgers and thinking how cold it is outside that I absentmindedly grab my hat, too.  It takes me a second to realize what I was holding.  But there it was – it had been sitting safe in my room the whole day!  I must have forgotten to pick it up again that morning when I went back into my room right before leaving to grab my ticket.  Although I could have sworn I had it on the staircase, too.  Oh well, it was there and not lost, and that’s all that mattered.  🙂

I had a really eventful day today.  I’ve decided which class to switch into and just heard back on approval from Miami, I went to the “Refreshers” fair, I went to football (us two Americans who showed up are strictly NOT allowed to call it soccer) practice, and then to watch “Sinbad” and then to the Falmer bar with the “anim8s” society.  Only to get back to my flat at 11pm (at which point I hadn’t had dinner yet) and more importantly, realized what a dunderhead I am.  I also completely forgot about my grocery delivery tonight (despite the weird missed calls I kept seeing on my phone from an unrecognizable number and me be completely mystified at the time…I felt like a real idiot when I finally listened to my voice mail and realized who that must have been)!  First I feel terrible for forgetting when they loaded everything and brought it over.  Then I try calling to reschedule as soon as possible (I need those groceries!) but my phone has decided it won’t let me make a call anymore even though I just registered it online to see if that would help and I still have 95 minutes on it that I paid for!  Apparently you can’t reschedule online either…why you can order groceries online but not reschedule a delivery, I have no idea.  So it’s been a rather stressful last hour and half (made better by a quick chat online with my cousin!) on top of a very busy day.

So this will be all from me tonight and I promise to let you know more about how the clubs were next time.  I hope you aren’t as forgetful and silly as me, and if you are , well then you’re not alone!  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed (truly)

–> I feel this is a necessary addition to the post.  Not only do I sympathize with Dory at the moment (see caption on picture), but I will heed her wisdom as well.

“I suffer from short term memory loss, it runs in my family. At least, I think it does…where are they?”

Responses

  1. Love it, love it, love it! SO GLAD you found the hat!!! And your post made me laugh. I know it wasn’t funny at the time, but you have a great way with words!
    Just keep swimming…

    • Haha, thanks! And while I was frustrated, it always helps to be able to step back and laugh at yourself sometime and I’m always glad to put a smile on someone else’s face! 🙂

  2. Sounds like you might just be swimming too fast and trying to explore the whole pond in one swim. Try to slow it down. Like they say, it’s quality not quanity. Advice from an worn out old man who swam too fast in his time.
    Grandpa S

    • Your advice is always appreciated Grandpa! And luckily things have slowed down since then so I’ve been able to regroup and am ready take on the rest of the week!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

