Posted by: brookenado | January 30, 2012

Back to the basics

Dear readers,

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I need something to remind me to stay grounded.  Tonight, that was a simple meal for dinner.  After feeling somewhat “blah” earlier in the day, my dinner of cheese tortellini with tomato sauce, a good salad, and a piece of buttered bread was just what I needed.  I find it truly amazing how good the basics are – and how I sometimes forget that!

Saturday really isn’t worth taking the time to mention.  I woke up late (yes, I let myself sleep in…though not on purpose) and made my way over to the computer lab a little after 1pm.  I was there working on my project until 7.  And I have to tell you – it is freezing in that room!  After coming back to the flat and having dinner, I watched an hour long program on the BBCiplayer and did some more looking into tickets for Phantom.  I am going to feel so much relief once those tickets are actually purchased.  It was really just a boring night to myself in which I watched Youtube videos, took care of some emails, and got a chunk of my paper for this same project written.

Today I woke up at a much more normal time, read some of the reading for my Digital Cultures class on Tuesday then grabbed an oatmeal raisin cookie and was out the door to catch the bus to the grocery store.  I was at the grocery store longer than I planned…and I have a bruise on my arm from carrying around my shopping basket to prove it!  All of us Americans should really appreciate free grocery carts.  So after getting some supplies I came back to flat and made myself a tomato and cheese omelette for lunch, complete with half a grapefruit and a piece of toast.  The next few hours were spent very unproductively (as far as school work goes that is).  I sat on my bed writing and reading emails and just putzing around the Internet in general; I couldn’t even be bothered to get up and turn the lights on when it got dark (I have since determined that that wasn’t helping my “blah” mood) .  Finally I got myself to go back to the computer lab for an hour and half (things are coming together!) and then making a late dinner.  By the time I got back and had eaten my simply perfect dinner, I was feeling much more like my normal self.   I also baked a new recipe of bread tonight (have to use up those eggs I bought and dropped the next night…yeah, woops.)!  I ran across the street to get an orange for orange zest, then substituted and added ingredients according the what I had/what sounded good.

Ok, I literally just tasted it and I’m not going to lie, I’m feeling pretty proud of myself right now.  It’s good!  And, score, it goes well with cream cheese which was the goal.  See, I was planning on making pumpkin bread but they didn’t have any pumpkin at the store (what?!  I know).  Anway, I’m feeling particularly good about this because not only did I successfully convert measurements (the recipe was on a UK site), but also added some ingredients where I felt necessary (namely: cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla extract which always seem like a good idea when baking bread).  It called for apricots and raisins, but seeing as I had neither I used cranberries instead.  Then the came the important detail I almost forgot about – that would have been a disaster.  It called for self-rising flour, yet I only had all purpose flour so used that and then baking powder instead.  The baking powder is what I almost forgot!  And I think I could have added a bit more as it would have been nice for it to have risen a little more.  The cranberries look like they pretty much sank to the bottom, too, but overall I’d say it was a success.

Yup – more lolcats.

And with that, I’m off to get ready for bed and possibly attempt to do a little more work.  We’ll see.  Only one class tomorrow, but I plan to do laundry and hopefully finish that project as well.  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Responses

  1. Brooke, good girl on improvising. Write down all your details and you can make it again! One idea on the cranberries sinking to the bottom – you might soak them in 1-2 tbs orange juice, then 1-2 tbs of flour to coat. That might make them stay incorporated, but I’m not sure. (One of my recipes calls to do that with choc chips and grand marnier and flour – and that is supposedly the reason you do that.) Just a thought! Sounded really good, though!

    • Hmm, they were soaked in orange juice but I’ll have to try coating them in flour next time. Thanks for the tip! I considered putting chocolate chips in it too, but maybe next time…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

