Posted by: brookenado | February 10, 2012

Bake with me, Eat with me, Run with me

Dear readers,

Normally I would have written sooner, but my week itself has been rather uneventful and I think we may all have needed a breather after Sunday’s hefty post!  But here we are again; so let’s get started, shall we?

Monday was extremely uneventful and was actually very similar to Sunday, except that I had one class to attend.  Tuesday was good in that my two classes went well, and then – due to remaining snow on the fields – football practice was cancelled.  My hands and ears, in particular, were very happy about that!  I used that time to make chocolate peanut butter bites; they are so simple and yet so good!  Unfortunately, the consistency of the bottom part (the peanut butter, butter, powdered sugar, and brown sugar) turned out extremely crumbling and would not hold together when I tried to cut and separate it into little squares.  So they are very messy this time around and hard to eat, but good none the less.

Cancelled practice also meant I was able to eat dinner with my flatmates on Tuesday and rush off to anim8s (NOT in football gear for once!) to watch Beauty and the Beast, a classic.  Or rather, an “instant classic” (why hello, oxymoron).  I’m getting to know my fellow anim8s better at our gatherings at Falmer bar after we watch our movie.  It was much more crowded in the bar than usual on Tuesday so we had a “girls table” going and it was a lot of fun just chatting and being a little goofy with them!

With Wednesday came a cancelled football game, so the only things on my agenda were one class and cooking dinner later.  Again, my cooking excursion (meatloaf pie) didn’t turn out quite as it should have but was still ok.  It was taking longer to cook than planned, and I ended up serving it soupier than it should have been and with rice that could have been given some more time to cook…oh well.  Now I’ll know for next time, right?  I suppose it just isn’t my best kitchen week!

Today has been very normal as well, despite some alarms going off in buildings I was in.  I went to my three classes (the first of which a fire alarm went off in), then went with the York House girls to purchase our train tickets into London for the weekend after this, and came back to my flat.  I proceeded to snack and read, take a longer nap than anticipated (yeah, kinda forgot that when I set my alarm to 3:50…it meant 3:50 am.  Should have set it to 15:50), stood outside for another fire alarm, ate some leftovers for dinner, and just finished my PowerPoint for my presentation in my Weimar Republic seminar tomorrow.  So there we go, you’re all caught up on my week!

Now, on to the main point of this post!  I have decided that all this free time I have here (I really think they’ve got it right with how they schedule academics – it’s much less stressful than in the U.S.) is turning me into a full blown Foodie!  Blogging has let me discover a plethora of new recipes – which, many a time, include mouth watering pictures of said recipes.

So I’ve been thinking (“a dangerous past time”, “I know”) and a silly idea has hatched in my mind.  It will be much more feasible to try all of these recipes when I get back home, and as I have informed my mom, I do plan on baking/cooking up a storm to try a lot of them.  I’m happy to say that she is on board, but she also had the same thought process that with all of this food we are going to have to compensate with working it off!  So this idea is for something along the lines of, well, like a club I guess.

Food is always better when shared with good company, right?  As is working out.  (Do you see where this is going?)  Yes – “Bake with me, Eat with me, Run with me”!  This is where my baking plans of grandeur have taken me – to implement a fun summer thing (and maybe even take it to Miami) where people can bake/cook together, eat together, and work out together!  What do you think, readers – it has some merit, right?  Right?

I can see it now…

Friday is looming upon the horizon, and with another snow flurry occurring outside my window I am expecting another cancelled practice tomorrow night.  The team is supposed to have a make-up game this Saturday, but now I have some doubts that we will be able to play.  I’ll just have to wait and see on both.  Wish me luck on my presentation tomorrow, and I will be wishing you all a very happy Friday, as always.  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Responses

  1. Love the picture!!! Made me laugh! I was thinking, maybe it should be exercise first – and THEN feel like you can eat what you bake/cook. Just a thought!!

    • You bring up a good point. Plus, if you exercise first and get that out of the way, then you have the good stuff to look forward to! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

