Posted by: brookenado | February 12, 2012

Slumber parties of old…

Dear readers,

Do you remember those days when you would pack up your pillow and pajamas and head over to your friend’s house for a fantastic evening of carefree fun and a morning filled with pancakes and giggles?  Then again, maybe some of you remember those times more recently as a hectic night trying to get overexcited children fed and settled without any breakdowns or allergy attacks…

Whether you recall them fondly or not so fondly, sleepovers are most certainly an aspect of growing up in Western culture.  One that was re-invoked once more for me on Friday night.  So I packed up my pj’s, blankets, and pillow, and made my way over to York House to spend the  night in Betsey’s room with Betsey (of course), Iris, and Amanda.

We moved the chairs in Betsey’s room to Iris’s right across the hall, and dragged Iris’s mattress onto the floor of Betsey’s room so we would all fit.  We talked, had nutella and whipped cream crepes, listened to music with some ridiculous dancing here and there, and played the mustache game while watching the newest Twilight film online.

For those of you unfamiliar with the mustache game, one simply makes a paper mustache, top hat, monocle, etc. and tapes it onto the screen of whatever you are watching your movie on.  When the article that a specific person made and placed lines up with a character on the screen, they drink.  Yes, it’s a drinking game.  And although I didn’t participate fully (I had a glass of a very tasty berry cider beforehand – which is alcoholic, yes – and decided to stick to water after that) it was no less hilarious to watch.  We were up until 5am, I believe, and so had a late start to the day (what else would you expect?).  It was a lot of fun, and had me feeling like a kid again (who am I kidding?  I haven’t grown up yet), reminiscing about those slumber parties of old.

Saturday, after making my way back to Swanborough, showering, getting something to eat, and after taking a silly photo shoot in the IT building while Betsey scanned a document into the computer to email (you may have seen the photos on Facebook), the four of us went into Brighton.  I realized after getting on the bus that it had been two weeks since my last trip into town!

I finally got my phone topped-up.  Vodofone’s website has got to be the most frustrating site in regards to functioning correctly and in terms of customer service that I have had the displeasure of having to deal with.  Let’s just hope that there aren’t any issues with my phone now.  We stopped into some other places for general errands and had time to stop at a Krispy Kreme before going to Sainsbury, naturally.

I have to say, while I haven’t been to an actual Krispy Kreme shop in the States in a long time, I feel like the one here is so much cooler!  There were so many neat flavors that I’ll have to try over the period I’m here – the first one to be checked off was an apple cinnamon filled doughnut that had been recommended to me.  I apologize for the doughnut tangent here, it just blew my mind a little bit.  Anyway, after getting groceries I had a late dinner of leftovers and a quiet night to myself.

Here’s a sample if you haven’t seen the IT photo session

…and this pretty much sums it up

Today will mostly be spent reading or doing work for classes, though there is a chance that I may make strawberry jam truffles.  They seemed like an easy and Valentine-y treat to bring to anim8s on Tuesday!  They might be put off until tomorrow, though; I haven’t decided yet.  Regardless, it will be a relaxing day.  I’m also happy to report that the weather should be rising this week to be a high of 50 again on Wednesday!  Now go enjoy your Sunday, may it be relaxing and easygoing.  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Responses

  1. Two Brooke’s, oh no!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

