Posted by: brookenado | February 16, 2012

And away we go! (Or, #5 strikes again!)

Dear readers,

Yes, two posts in one day!  Aside from my cooking escapades, it’s been a normal week since Sunday.  Going to classes, reading (or trying to get through it all), football practice, anim8s, and planning for this weekend have been the main and familiar points.  Yes, the weather has finally allowed football to resume, and I did play in my first game yesterday!  It was a double header, but each game was only 50 minutes, and both played against Surrey.  The pitch was very muddy – you should have seen my jersey (I managed to wear #5!), shorts, sweatpants, and even my shirt worn underneath by the time we finished!  We won the first match 3-1.

However, I played in the second match, which ended in a disappointing 1 point loss in overtime (it was a cup match, rather than league so couldn’t end in a tie).  I did actually score a goal…but it was called back because the player who touched the ball right before I hit it apparently fouled a girl on the other team.  How disappointing.  Embarrassingly, I had to sit out the last 3 minutes of overtime when both of my calves seized up in cramps so that I could barely stand for a bit.  Everyone was very kind about it though, helping me off/stretch, and a girl on the other team offered me some magnesium pills that are supposed to prevent or stop cramping.  While she handed them to me James, the coach, was pushing my toes down to stretch my calves and asked “Didn’t your mom ever teach you not to take pills from strangers?”.  He was trying to get me to laugh and succeeded, thanks James.  Once I got back to the flat I was sure to eat a banana and drink two cups of tea as the cramps could have been caused by dehydration as well.  But when it came down to it, it was great to be back out on the field and playing the game again.

I cooked dinner Wednesday night, too.  Pork medallions cooked in a balsamic reduction with wild rice and grilled peaches – I’m 3 for 3 on this meal, having made it twice on my own last semester.  You’ll have to pardon my lack of a photo here, though!

Tomorrow Betsey, Iris, Amanda, and I go to London for the weekend – meaning I need to pack!  Luckily I have a fashion savvy mom to help me decide what to wear to the theatre tomorrow night and what to wear to afternoon tea on Saturday.  We just finalized an itinerary for the weekend as well, and it’s looking good.  I can’t tell you how excited I am for Phantom as well!  Unfortuantely, you will have to wait until Sunday night to hear from me again (egad!).  But you can expect to hear how my weekend in London is and see photos at that time!  Have wonderful weekends yourselves.  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

