Posted by: brookenado | February 16, 2012

Valentine’s treats and personal pizza!

Dear readers,

As today’s title suggests, I have been in the kitchen this week!  Some of you may have had a significant other to celebrate Valentine’s Day with, or perhaps you celebrated with friends and indulging in chocolate (if you can’t on Valentine’s Day, when can you?).  For my part, it was the latter as I rushed back from practice on Tuesday to my flat to jump in the shower and grab my homemade strawberry jam truffles.  I thought they would be a nice treat to bring to the anim8s that night where we watched the Lion King – one of my favorites (if you couldn’t tell already from my blog!).  They were a hit and I have a few left over to enjoy and share with my flatmates!

Strawberry jam chocolate truffles

You may recall a mention of these in my last post and I did make the inside part on Sunday night and then finished them on Monday.  If these look good to you, I encourage you to try making them yourself!  While a little time consuming, overall they are easy to make and taste great.  Here’s the recipe:

For the inside – whisk together

200 g (2 chocolate bars) melted milk chocolate

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, room temperature; add in small chunks

about 1/4 cup heavy or whipping cream (I substituted this for the 3 egg yolks the recipe called for)

fold in 1/2 cup strawberry jam

set in fridge and let the mix become firm

Folding the jam into the milk chocolate mixture

For the outer shell –

Take your mix out of the fridge and using a teaspoon, scoop some out and roll into a ball.  Set on a plate or baking sheet covered in foil.  I did this part in multiple sections of the inside mix, as I ran out of room, but that worked for the best because the melted chocolate gets difficult to work with fairly quickly.

Rolling the batter into balls

Your hands will get extremely chocolaty!

Melt dark chocolate (called for 1 lb, I got away with 300 g instead – again, did this multiple times).  Dip the balls in the dark chocolate (I placed them inside the pot, rolled them around, and scooped them out) and replace on the foil.  Place back in the fridge to set and voila!  If you want to, melt white chocolate and drizzle on top of each truffle or place sprinkles on top immediately after dipping in the dark chocolate.  It makes about 40 truffles.  Recipe adapted from http://candy.about.com/od/chocolatetrufflerecipes/r/strawberrytruffles.htm

Getting there! You can see the chunkier looking ones were when I burnt the chocolate trying to get it to remelt, so doing it in batches really helps

Now I also mentioned pizza in the title, did I not?  Well Monday night Heather decided to do a make your own pizza night for dinner.  And I have to say, I make a mighty fine pizza!   Really I just kept adding things that I had on hand that looked good.  So, to document my discovery as well as share it, here’s how my pizza went:

It started with the India garlic herb triangular bread (already made, so not dough) pieces that Heather provided us with.  Then some basic tomato and basil sauce was spread on top followed by some raw spinach and shredded cheddar cheese.  On top I placed some more spinach leaves, then I sprinkled on some oregano, basil, and rosemary (the rosemary added a  nice, sweeter touch to it).  There came more sprinkled cheddar, some grated fresh Parmesan, and shredded mozzarella (once I remembered that I had some in the fridge).  I then diced some green pepper and placed it on the pizza and sliced the two left over cherry tomatoes and placed on top.  Finally, I had pulled some feta cheese out for my salad.  I looked at the feta, I looked at the pizza…yup, the final ingredient was going to be some feta cheese sprinkled on top!  Then it all went in the oven for 10 minutes or so (just watch for melted cheese).  I lied actually, the final ingredient was the fresh parsley I sprinkled on top once the pizza came out of the oven!  It was really good – so I took a picture!

Watch out world, Brooke is making a pizza!

A closer look so you can see all that goodness on top of the pizza - are you getting hungry yet? (I am)

I get teased as being the chef in the flat, which has spread to friends beyond our flat, and the two girls in the common room (one of which was an aforementioned friend) while I was preparing my pizza asked “What, are you going to make a gourmet pizza now?!”  But I swear, all I did was take this and that which I had on hand or had to be eaten up and kept building my pizza.  🙂

I encourage you to go try something in the kitchen, whatever you like!  Kitchen creations can be like a Krabby Patty; good for the soul.  Until then…

Mischief managed

Responses

  1. When it comes to the kitchen you are your mother’s daughter. I’m starving now. Have to go look for something to eat. Love, Grandpa

  2. Thanks Grandpa, and I hope you found something tasty to eat!

  3. Great pictures! The truffles look amazing. Wow, that pizza does look really good! Hmmm…. When are you coming home so that you can create one of those for me?? 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

