Posted by: brookenado | March 2, 2012

Regular old update & Things to come

Dear readers,

I come today bearing a regular old update.  My life here has certainly settled into a routine – one which I will now bring your attention back to.  Let’s start with last weekend.

Somehow, I wound up with the flat to myself for Saturday and part of Sunday.  All of my flatmates ended up on separate trips into London and one on a weekend in Wales.  After my busy weekend previously, I didn’t mind having the time to myself.  It ended up being a beautiful weekend, which I took advantage of in the sense that I sat on the couch by the window soaking up the sun while it was out.  Though I would have loved to have spent more time outside, there was work to be done.  I ended up getting a good chunk of stuff done and felt pretty accomplished and content with the weekend.  Friday night I fixed up those peanut butter bites too!

Monday was spent going to my morning class and planning out my month long break with Betsey, Iris, and Amanda.  As always, Tuesday was a busy day with my two classes, football practice, and anim8’s later that night (this week it was The Emperor’s New Groove – so funny!).  Wednesday I went to my class followed by another career info session…which turned out to be pretty irrelevant to me due to a misunderstanding on my part.  That’s not to say it didn’t hurt to go – plus, I used it as an excuse to wear my new dress again!  Yesterday my morning was filled with classes, after which I had lunch, watched the highlights of the USA/Italy friendly match from the previous day (we won!!!), and did some internship research before heading to the library for more trip planning with the others.

Well, we are officially going to Salzburg, Austria on Sunday March 18!  Here is the plan thus far: Salzburg, Vienna, Zurich, then I meet my parents in Venice and proceed to Florence and Rome, meet up again in Paris with friends, spend Easter at Amanda’s cousin’s house in La Rochelle, France.  Now here is where the certainty ends.  The other girls are going on to Madrid from there for the last 5 or 6 days.  I know I will be going to Spain in May or June because I will have 3 friends from back home there at the time, so I’m thinking I might save my money for that trip later.  Instead, I may be able to meet up with one of those friends in Berlin for a few days and then head back to Brighton from there.  Or, if that doesn’t look like it will work out, go back after La Rochelle and get ahead on some work knowing that I will be doing more travelling in the summer.  I have to say, planning a nearly month long trip is a lot of work!  We still have hostels to book, buy any tickets for things to see and plan our days, reserve seats on trains, the list goes on…

Did I mention that the preliminary exam schedule went up this week?  Well, should things remain the same, I will officially be done on May 23 leaving me an entire month free!  Incredible, right?

And that brings us to today, and waiting for my clothes to finish drying before I go to lunch at one of the places on campus with some friends.  I do hope that my clothes will be dry, my color load was suspiciously sopping wet when I took it out of the washing machine and I had to use one of the 70p boxes of detergent since I got over here and realized I forgot my own bottle of detergent.  It’s always something, isn’t it?  Beyond laundry and lunch, I have football practice later.

Tomorrow will find me on another Butler day trip, this time to Oxford and Blenheim Palace.  This meaning I will have to get up fairly early to catch the train into London and meet up with the group once again.  At least I know what I’m doing this time!  So you can expect some (hopefully) good pictures in the next post!  I wish you all a happy Friday and weekend, and will leave you with a few more photos from London.  On to the next adventure!  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

