Posted by: brookenado | May 10, 2012

“We just want to see you have a good time!”

Dear readers,

There is so much to share still that I’m having trouble deciding where to start.  Today, though, will be the day you hear about my first true night out in Brighton, as well as some other updates in my life.  There may be a recipe thrown in as well!  Let’s not get ahead of ourselves though; so without further ado, here’s my version of “the anim8s hit the town”.

After watching an lesser known animated film, “The Secret of Kells”, we headed over to Falmer Bar as usual.  We hung out there for about an hour or so while a few stragglers were able to catch up with us.  Around 9:45 the group made its way over to the bus stop, and then we were on our way into Brighton.  I had a nice chat with those seating nearest me, after all, it’s about a 40 minute ride into Brighton at night!  When we got off, most of us had never been to the club we were going to before, so we followed our president to “Above Audio”.  The plan was to chill there for a little bit before heading down to “Audio” right below (thus the name “Above Audio”).

Above Audio was a pretty neat place, actually.  It had a great layout and was a jazz/swing club.  There was a large screen in a central area where old black and white videos of swing dancers and big bands were playing, the bar was very snazzy looking, and there was a fish tank on the far end of the room.  Some of the members even surprised us with their versatile dance moves!  Just as I was about to order a 7 pound cocktail (I know!), we were moving downstairs.  So I was saved from spending so much on one drink – no matter how fancy it looked – and got a rum and coke at Audio for half that price.

Above Audio!

Though the two clubs may share the same building, they are certainly worlds apart form each other!  Audio was a dark room with some strobe lights and two smaller bars on either end of the room.  There are a few tables, but mostly it is a dance floor with two dj’s on either side.  Unlike any other bar or club I’ve been to (not many, I assure you), Audio plays alternative, rock, punk, and metal.  We also got in for one pound rather than two, or maybe it was three, because we were on the guest list.  Now you have to put the right inflection on that.  That’s how it works over here though – if you know you will be going out to a certain place, you can usually put your name on their list on Facebook and you get a discount to get in.  So discount and name on the guest list…what’s not to like?

Audio! (Can you tell the difference?)

I ended up staying a lot longer than I though I would, and had a great time.  The group was a great mix of guys and girls, and just plain fun.  The guys weren’t afraid to get out and dance, and I had a lovely time with everyone.  It was interesting dancing to this type of music, there were a few songs I heard which I knew (and really like!), but for the most part they were unfamiliar to me.  And think what you will of the type to go to an alternative music club, but I have to say that the people there were much more respectful of personal boundaries than the people at “Brick Street” tend to be, at least on Halloween – but that’s a story for another time.

The only downer of the night were my knees.  Yes, my knees.  Tendinitis does not for good dancing make.   I made due until 2:30 am when I got to the point where I either had to go sit down or head back.  Since it would be at least a half hour to get back and someone else was thinking about leaving as well, I decided it was time to call it a night.  So we stayed for one more song before saying our goodbyes and walking back to the bus stop.  I arrived back at my flat a little after 3 am.  Whew.  But it was such a fun night, not too expensive, and such a great group of people!  I hear we’re planning a karaoke night soon, too.  Better start practicing “A Whole New World” again…

An interesting thing here is that students go out pretty much any night of the week.  But hey – “everyday I’m shuffling”.  We went out on a Tuesday night, however Wednesdays tend to be extremely popular clubbing nights in addition to the normal weekend nights.  Certain places offer free entry on some weeknights as well, or so I hear.  But the schedules, the work load, and the attitude in general allow any night to be a social night.  Anyway, that is how my first clubbing experience in Brighton went – a success I would say!

Speaking of successes, I have to mention the dinner I made for my flatmates this week.  Because we had a big potluck at our flat last night, I made dinner on Tuesday rather than my usual day.  Also, because I’m going to Barcelona this coming weekend, I wasn’t going to really go grocery shopping.  So figuring out what I was going to make was the question to be answered.  Thinking about what I had to eat up before I leave, I knew I would use (here it is again) eggplant and zucchini – but how?  When I thought about what the small grocery store on campus has, the idea of making burgers came to mind.  So I bought the ground beef, as well as the packet of blueberries and blackberries that were calling out to me.  Bear with me here, an idea was taking root.

Lately I’ve been finding myself having to listen to movie soundtracks in order to concentrate and focus on writing my papers.  It just so happens that I was listening to the soundtrack of Ratatouille when this idea fully formed – it was a beautiful coincidence.  Here’s a sneak peak:

Can you guess?  I ended up making goat cheese, cilantro, and onion burgers – with some assorted seasonings (pepper, salt, basil, and a dash of rosemary).  This was actually the first time I’ve made burgers, too!  It was in realizing that I needed to use my goat cheese up as well that inspiration hit me.  I thought, you know, cilantro sounds like it would go well with that.  And onion just seemed a natural burger ingredient, and thus my burger was born.  But wait!  What about the eggplant and zucchini?  Not to fear, no food gets left behind in this flat (although, it is sometimes forgotten…).   Those two were cut into even slices, and put in the oven with some olive oil, salt, and pepper for about 30 minutes – set at around 375 degrees.  Then it was out of the proverbial frying pan and onto my burger.  I also had some cantaloupe to use up and that’s where the other berries came in.  Throw a salad on the side…and we get a dinner hailing the glory of summertime.

I was very flattered by my flatmates appraisal of the burgers, there was even a claim to it being the best burger one of them has ever had!  So, here’s an idea for you to play around with and enjoy, we certainly did!  For the amount of cilantro and onions, I really just sort of chopped some up and put it in.  If I had to guess I’d say about a quarter to a third cup of each.  The goat cheese just kept being added in until it looked like a good ratio.  I think it’s safe to say that you could just go with what you think you’d like – so if you really love cilantro, then by all means add more in!  As a side note, the cilantro complemented the goat cheese very well, adding a sharper, fresh taste to the meal.

If you don’t have a grill, as we do not, then you can cook your burgers in the oven just as easily!  I put them in for about 20 minutes at 375 degrees as well.  In the end I also added the usual lettuce, tomato, ketchup, and mustard to the burger; so you can still add those all those condiments you love.  Really, just have fun with it – and maybe listen to a little soundtrack music while you’re at it!

I couldn’t miss the perfect lolcats opportunity

Well, that’s it for me today, though I hope to get another post out tomorrow before I leave for Spain.  I’ll be going to visit a friend from home who is studying there, and I’m very excited to see her and the city…and the sun!  But there is lots to get done before I leave, of course.  I also have an interview in a half hour for a summer internship, so readers, keep your fingers crossed and send some good chi if you can!  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

