Posted by: brookenado | September 28, 2012

Is it pizza night yet?

Dear readers,

Maybe it’s just me, but has this week seemed to be dragging on?  Nothing out of the ordinary has really occurred; classes, homework, new ideas, and not enough sleep – the usual.  As mentioned in the last post, there will be a recipe included in this one!  There was something I didn’t get to mention in my last post that I’d like to mention first, so you’ll have to bear with me…

As far as the usual goes, I did go to something last week that was pretty cool.  The study abroad program here does a thing called “NationaliTea” (clever, I know) every Monday.  Each week focuses on a different culture to create a discussion and share food from that culture.  And tea.  Last week was the overall study abroad week, and while I wished I had taken a larger part and actually made a poster and was a presenter, I figured I would enjoy checking it out all the same.

It was quite nice to go and I think I’ll be making it a regular Monday event.  I met people who had gone to Spain, China, Australia, and more.  The best part was chatting with a girl who had been in London and a girl who spent time in India.  What was interesting was discussing the ways in which we all had different experiences, yet similar at the same time.

Tea time. Bringing people together since “A long time ago…”

For example, the girl who went to London only spent 6 weeks there and was strictly doing a Miami course with other Miami students.  Yet she got to live in London – on Baker Street no less! – and go see a Shakespeare play at the Globe Theatre every week.  The girl who went to India did a home stay with another international student and was in India for about 4 months taking a few classes as well.  She experienced living with a large Indian family, and with that, certain ceremonies when a distant family member passed away and a cousin got married.  Then there’s me, who stayed at a university in England for almost 6 months taking classes and getting to travel around Europe.  We all had experiences; things to connect over whether it was time spent in our respective places or adjusting back to being in Oxford.  And it was fun hearing about their unique stories, too.

Unfortunately, I missed going this week as there was just too much work to be done and a meeting to go to about a brochure project.  Now, the other out of the ordinary thing last week included my getting to “suit up”.  I decided last minute (as in the morning of) to attend the career fair for a little while with one of my housemates.  It wasn’t particularly relevant to either of us, being geared much more towards engineers, finance majors, and the more technical side of business, but I’m still glad I went and at least a small part of the experience.  Besides, I got to wear my new/first suit for the first time!  It felt great.

Perhaps there is something to Barney Stinson’s suit philosophy after all

Now, on to the important stuff.  Pizza.  Friday night and pizza is one of those age old combinations that I’m fairly certain everyone can agree is amazing.  However, this recipe puts a twist on pizza night with some fresh flavors that combine wonderfully.  Originally from “Cooking Light” magazine, this is the apple, goat cheese, and pecan pizza – yum!

Pizza night, here we come

 

Here’s what you’ll need:

– 1 pound six-grain pizza crust (I just got a pound of uncooked pizza dough, worked just as well)

– 3 cups thinly sliced Fuji apples (you can mix apples if you want, I used a large fuji and a braeburn)

– 1 cup (4 oz) goat cheese, crumbled (or feta, if you prefer)

– 2 tsp chopped fresh thyme (try not to skip out on this, getting it fresh really adds that extra zing of flavor!)

– 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil

– 2 tsp Dijon mustard

– 1 tsp fresh lemon juice

– 1 1/2 tsp honey

– 2 cups baby arugula

– 3 tablespoons chopped pecans, toasted (I used walnuts and forgot to toast them, turned out fine)

So first things first, set the oven to 450.  With the uncooked pizza dough I decided that I could pretend I followed the recipe and got the pizza crust by rolling it out and cooking it half way, about 7 minutes.  In the mean time, I sliced the apples and started on the sauce bit.

After about 7 minutes, take the pizza dough out.  I decided to brush a bit of olive oil on top at this point, then you will spread the apple slices, crumbled goat cheese, and thyme evenly over the crust.  Place this back in the oven for another 7 or 8 minutes, or until the cheese begins to melt and/or begins to brown.

For the sauce, combine the oil, Dijon mustard, lemon juice, and honey in a bowl.  Whisk together then add the arugula and toss gently.  When the pizza comes out, top with the lettuce and the pecan (or walnut) pieces.  Add some of the leftover sauce if you desire.  Then, slice it up and dig in!  This is seriously a treat and great meal; sweet with the apples, savory with the goat cheese, and a bit tangy from the sauce (I suppose it might be more like a marinade…).

Mmm, tasty 🙂

Enjoy the recipe and that will be all from me today.  It’s going to be a hectic week as I have a midterm and a brochure project due.  I have three extra meetings to go to because of this project, plus a paper to write for it on top of keeping up with the normal stuff for the week.  Ah well, at least things are not all stressful work.  Tomorrow I get to go to the Cincinnati Zoo for one of my classes, where our class will go behind the scenes with the trainer of the Przwalski’s horses.  Since we’ll already be in, we’ll get the chance to explore the rest of the zoo for free!  Yeah, I guess things aren’t so bad.

And with that, I’m off to get some work done (or try to) before going out to dinner with my housemate and another friend.  Happy Friday readers, and happy pizza night!  While it’s not the traditional pizza don’t be afraid to give this pizza a try, you won’t be disappointed.  Enjoy your weekends and perhaps you’ll hear from me again sooner rather than later.  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Yup, it’s unanimous. Pizza night.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

