Posted by: brookenado | October 28, 2012

Pumpkin Pick Me Up: Pumpkin-Apple Butter-Peach Muffins

Dear readers,

Last post I left you with a recipe for cookies and half of the pumpkin puree used up.   Now, as mentioned in a previous post, I have been itching to bake something with the apple butter I bought from the Apple Butter Festival in Oxford (https://theadventureisafoot.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/saturday-morning-glory/).  You may have guessed what I made already…

Oh boy, muffins!

I thought about making a variation of pumpkin bread, but decided that I wanted to make muffins instead.  So I hopped online and found a good recipe to follow for pumpkin-apple streusel muffins, which I tweaked to suit my own needs.  What I ended up creating were pumpkin, apple butter, peach muffins with a streusel topping.  And they are amazing (especially with some cream cheese in the middle)!

The recipe I used as my base (a recipe for pumpkin-apple streusel muffins) can be found here: http://www.yummly.com/recipe/external/Pumpkin_apple-Muffins-With-Streusel-Topping-TasteOfHome

Ingredients:

For muffin

– 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

– 2 cups sugar

– 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice

– 1 tsp baking soda (recipe calls for this amount, however add a dash more because of the apple butter)

– 1/2 tsp salt

– 2 eggs, lightly beaten

– 1 cup pumpkin puree

– 1 tsp vanilla

– 1/4 cup vegetable oil (original recipe calls for 1/2 but I used less as I was added apple butter; may be able to skip altogether)

– at least 1 peach diced (I used one but would have liked more of the peach flavor mixed in)

For streusel

– 1/4 cup sugar

– 2 tablespoons all purpose flour

– 1/2 ground cinnamon

– 1 tablespoon butter

– 1/2 tsp vanilla

Ok, once you have all that, go ahead and preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  In a bowl, combine the first five ingredients.  In a separate bowl, add the eggs, pumpkin, vegetable oil (as mentioned, you may be able to leave out the oil all together), and vanilla.  Mix well.

Add the pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients.  Combine.  Fold in the diced peach – and when I say I used one peach…it was really 3/4 of a peach.  You see, I had to taste test a slice or two and I had just the one peach on hand; would definitely use more than that next time!

Fold in the diced peach

That’s it for the batter for the muffins, so now it’s time for the streusel topping!  In a small bowl add the sugar, flour, and cinnamon.  Cut in the butter using a pastry cutter (blender) or your fingers, and add the vanilla until the mixture is that of coarse crumbs.  Spray a muffin tin with non-stick spray and scoop the muffin batter into the tin; each individual cup should be filled about 3/4 full.

Almost there!

Sprinkle the streusel on top of each muffin and pop it into the oven.  Let the muffins cook for 30-35 minutes; 30 minutes worked perfectly for me.  This recipe makes 18 muffins.

And…we have muffins! (the Dark Side isn’t the only one with baked goods)

I would recommend cutting them in half and spreading a layer of cream cheese on to make these muffins that much better!  But all in all, they are delightful and a nice mix-up to the morning breakfast routine and a great snack to take on the run.  Plus, this is another great Fall recipe with the pumpkin and apple butter.  These are muffins I will be making again!

Perfect 🙂

Well readers, I do hope you get the chance to try these muffins.  I promise that they are easy and fairly quick to make.  Beyond this, I have to tell you that I had a wonderful weekend.  Here at Miami it was parents weekend and I was fortunate enough to have my parents make it over here for a couple days.

Highlights included dinner with the housemates and parents in Oxford, an amazing dinner in Cincinnati for my uncle’s birthday then playing DDR on the Xbox360 Kinect with the parents, aunts, and uncles (as you can guess, ridiculousness ensued), a football game that came down to the last seconds and rushing the field when we won, and an absolutely brilliant concert last night!  OAR was the feature band, and let me tell you, they are fantastic live.

Each of the band members seem like such characters and looked like they were having a great time just being up there and playing.  I loved the three brass instruments they had, and each musician up there could really play!  My only regret was the lack of people in attendance – but they missed out (big time).

This is just a taste for you, but it is just something of its own to see them live in a concert setting (and if you get the chance, I would highly recommend seeing them!) –

And with that, I will leave you to the remainder of your Sunday evenings and hoping you are staying warm and dry as the weather takes a turn for the winter (and the worse if you’re near the hurricane).  The next post will bring the Travel Tales to a close with the last of my Spring Break travels, so stay tuned for that!  But though my Spring Break travels come to an end, there are still quite a few abroad adventures to regale you with.

Onward and forward, then.  It’s off to write papers, complete an application, and taste some of my housemate’s homemade pumpkin pie for me.  Have a wonderful evening and thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

And you can serve these to all your friends (whether they want more or not)!

Responses

  1. Here’s an idea I once did with muffins – mix cream cheese with a little powdered sugar (about 1 cup to maybe a 1/4 cup or less of powdered sugar) and take a spoonful, rolling it into a ball. Drop this ball into the batter of each muffin tin. When you eat them, you have a little “surprise” of cream cheese inside!

    • Yum – that sounds like a really clever way to do it, thanks for the suggestion!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

