Posted by: brookenado | April 24, 2014

To Err is Human, So Keep Calm & Make Lemon Butter Cream Cookies

Dear readers,

I’m going to backtrack a couple of weeks to the beginning of the month.  Now let me ask you this: have you ever gone to work in your slippers?

By accident?  Spent all 8 hours in the office all too aware of your comfy feet?  I’ve never been much of a recipient or plotter of April Fool’s Day jokes, but I may just have played one on myself.  Yes, it was one of those days.  What began as a rainy morning (just after washing the car, of course) turned into an hour and a half of traffic.  I was forty minutes into my drive when I got the call from my mom.

‘You weren’t planning on wearing your black boots to work today, were you?’  …Sith spit.  Further choice words and maybe a few tears of piled up commuting frustration ensued.  Maybe.  It really wasn’t my morning.

Benedict Cumberbatch Star Trek Khan Sleep animated GIF

So I rushed from the parking lot to my desk, thinking of my shoes sitting oh-so-innocently on the couch at home, forgotten in my haste to get out the door.  Headdesk.  It wasn’t until after reading a few April Fool’s Day articles that had popped up in my emails that I began to feel better, and by lunch I had decided on a course of action – if anyone asked, I was simply going to give a straight-faced reply of, ‘It’s a longstanding tradition of my people to wear slippers on the first of April.

Turns out that no one even noticed – or everyone was too polite to say anything.  So take note: a sudden aversion to leaving your desk all day coupled with using lunch to retreat and regroup with a book in your car because you just can’t today does wonders for discreetly managing a fashion faux pas.  And, ok, it didn’t hurt that my slippers are moccasins – so no fuzzy pink bunnies to try and explain!

Now all of this might not have been quite so bad if I hadn’t been worried about the possibility that the traffic from my drive which caused me to be late would affect my plans later that evening.  The Nerdy Girlie, an awesome fellow Female Geek Blogger, had brought to my attention a free monthly event put on by our local Shakespeare Society, and I was excited to check it out (and not be late)!

San Diego Shakespeare Society Seaport Village Open Reading

Every first Tuesday of the month they host an interactive open reading at a book store in Seaport Village.  Appropriately, that night’s reading would be from A Comedy of Errors (me, errors?).  We gathered at The Upstart Crow where everyone was welcome to participate. It was a fun change of pace!

As my brother and I drove home, I was also reminded of how two years ago I was celebrating Shakespeare’s birthday in Stratford-upon-Avon while studying abroad.  Such a treat and hard to stay gloomy knowing where I’ve been.

Of course, just as much of a long day cure is a new recipe so I thought I’d share my most recent baking adventure with you!  While in Hawaii I received a wonderful belated graduation gift from my cousin, who is exceptionally thoughtful.

The Afternoon Tea Collection - British Recipes Baking Cookbook

Melting Moments (Lemon Butter Cream Cookie Sandwich)

Ingredients:

– For biscuits, 2 sticks (8 oz) butter, softened; For butter cream, 3 oz butter
– 1 tsp vanilla
– For biscuits, 1/2 cup powdered sugar; For butter cream, 3/4  cup powdered sugar
– 1 1/2 cups flour
– 1/2 cup cornstarch
– 1 tsp finely grated lemon rind
– 1 tsp lemon juice

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 325º F and spray cookie trays or line with parchment paper.

2. Beat butter, vanilla, and sifted powdered sugar together until light and fluffy.  Stir in sifted flour and cornstarch, half of each at a time.

3. With floured hands, roll a teaspoon of the dough into a ball and flatten slightly on cookie sheet.  Repeat until dough is gone, keeping the size of each ball of dough consistent.

4. Bake the biscuits (cookies) for 10-15 minutes (keep an eye on them to ensure they don’t brown) and let cool.

5. To make the butter cream, beat together remaining butter (3 oz), powdered sugar (3/4 cup), and lemon rind until pale and fluffy.  Beat in the lemon juice and sandwich the biscuits with the butter cream.

Melting Moments lemon butter cream biscuits/cookie sandwiches

Of course, they didn’t turn out quite as pretty as the picture this first time – but they were delicious!

My mom should get most of the credit for this one, I helped with the cookie (biscuit, I should say!) bit, but she did the butter cream and sandwiched the biscuits together.  These were a big hit at her book club where the book she was hosting for was set in Britain, so afternoon tea type foods were on the menu!

Hopefully you haven’t been experiencing any weekday blues, but if you have, I can wholly recommend giving Shakespeare and these Lemon Butter Cream Cookies a try.  Thanks for reading, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Responses

  1. Your story made me laugh – thanks for sharing!! I want to try the recipe – looks amazing!

    • Glad it did! While I was so frustrated at the time, now I can just shake my head and grin. Oh, and the cookies are definitely worth trying! 🙂

      • I also would love to meet you girls at the next Shakespeare event!!

      • Yes!

  2. Hope to join you at the next Shakespeare event! Those cookies look DELISH!!! xo

    • Same, that would so fun! I’m hoping to try another recipe from the new cookbook soon – maybe I’ll bring something to one of the meetups if I’m on top of it 😀

  3. If it makes you feel better, I went to work in my pjs one time. I was SO late (overslept) that I just ran out the house. Luckily my pjs looked more like workout clothes so I played it that way.

    • Oh man, I think you win! That’s a great story, though stressful at the time, I’m sure – been there with the oversleeping and it is not the best feeling to wake up to. But seriously, way to pull it off playing it cool! XD

  4. Ooooh! those sound delish!
    And I need to go to this Shakespeare thing next week!

  5. Really enjoyable post 🙂 Thanks for sharing your April slipper day with us 😉 I love any kind of cream cookie, and I’ve never realized that I could make some at home! I am so going to try this… and a maple one… ;P

    • Happy to share one of life’s little moments of crazy, thanks for the comment! And that is brilliant, I LOVE maple. Definitely going to have to try that now 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

