Posted by: brookenado | January 18, 2015

10 Quotes for 2015

Dear readers,

Happy New Year!  I’ve been meaning to get this post out for a couple weeks now and just haven’t for very reasons and non-reasons (family time while the sis was in town, getting over a cold, general procrastination…), but here it is at last!

Now I’ve never been a huge New Year’s resolution person, it just wasn’t something my family did at the end of the year.  We took things more one day at a time – resolutions sans planning.  Plus, New Year’s?  It always felt like just another day to me, except that you got to have sparkling apple cider, open poppers, and maybe catch a good Star Wars marathon or something on TV.

Boom, another year down.

But this year more than ever before, I get how January 1st can be a cathartic day and a day for, well, a resolution.  The past year is over and you get a brand new slate to start with – 365 days of opportunities and all that.  And maybe it’s just been on my mind more since we’ve been slating articles and posts with the New Year’s spin at work, or perhaps it has something to do with 2015 being my year in the Chinese Zodiac (what up, goats/sheep/rams?)…though more probably, it’s where I am in my life.

Up to this point there was always some larger direction: school, find a job, pay off the car.  Now I’ve been at my first full-time-out-of-college job for a little over a year, and I’m about to finish paying off my first car, so for the past month or so I’ve been reevaluating.  My job is ok, and I work with some good people, but I’m not happy.  So what’s holding me back?

When I get right down to it, I know what direction I’d rather take my life in and I’ve been stalling.  But hey, it’s a new year and as it turns out, it really is the perfect opportunity to make some changes.  Instead of a resolution I’ve decided to gather some quotes for 2015; words of wisdom to live by this year in the hopes that, come January 1, 2016, I’ll have had the inspiration and the courage to make a change!

10 Quotes for 2015

“Optimism is the faith that leads to achievement. Nothing can be done without hope and confidence.” – Helen Keller

“Get it down.  Take chances.  It may be bad, but it’s the only way you can do anything really good.” – William Faulkner

“Go confidently in the direction of your dreams.  Live the life you have imagined.” – Henry David Thoreau

“You cannot discover new oceans unless you have the courage to lose sight of the shore.” – Andre Gide

“This is how you do it: You sit down at the keyboard and you put one word after another until it’s done.  It’s that easy, and that hard.” – Neil Gaiman

“Once we believe in ourselves, we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight, or any experience that reveals the human spirit.” – E.E. Cummings

“Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.  Boldness has genius, power, and magic in it.” – Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

“The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity.” – Amelia Earhart

“Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.” – Anais Nin

“It’s your place in the world; it’s your life.  Go on and do all you can with it, and make it the life you want to live.” – Mae Jemison

Or, essentially:

‘I know it sounds like a cat poster, but it’s true.’

I’m a dreamer, and I’d like to tell stories, help people, and find a way to be geeky for a living.  At the moment writing seems like the best way for me to do all three.  But whether my initial change this year is writing a script or a book, or going back to school, or traveling the world for a little while, or something I can’t foresee yet (geek bakery?), these are words that make me feel as if I can do it – whatever it will end up being.

So as the TARDIS is blue, I’ll find the courage to take the first step this year because am I Gryffindor or not?  Now those are my quotes for a new year, what are your resolutions and words/quotes that inspire you to reach them?

Thanks for reading and best of luck to everyone’s goals for the year, cheers!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Ok, just one more:

Anything's possible if you've got enough nerve - J.K. Rowling

Though if someone has a bit of Felix Felicis, I’m thinking a bit of “liquid luck” couldn’t hurt… 😉

Responses

  1. If you’re looking for a great instructional/inspirational book on the process of writing I highly recommend The Art of Slow Writing by Louise DeSalvo. I borrowed it from the library and almost done reading the book. It provides a realistic overview of the writing process and great suggestions on how to improve your writing.

    • I’ll have to check that out, thanks for the suggestion! 🙂

  2. I too do not do resolutions…but this year struck me as to change things in my life too. I agree with much with what you wrote, and though the age difference, it IS never too late to make changes! I love your qoutes too! They are inspiring! Being older, and I want to say wiser, though I think I am, but you are wise for your age, you have life by the string so to speak! So go PULL IT…you have NOT a thing holding you back…not a thing, no one, no commitments, no financials, nothing!!!! GO FOR YOUR DREAMS>>>>>and I mean it. I so wish I had done that at your age. I am a dreamer, and all I thought I wanted was love at your age, how old fashioned! And now, I realize, you can find that with in yourself, not needing someone. So, with that advice, Go find those dreams while you are young and fresh….because they are in the palm of your hand. That string is so much easier to pull on in your position, being young, then when you have more years on you like me…so tug hard and enjoy the ride!!!! love you!!!!!

    • Thanks Aunt Jodi, I always appreciate the support! ❤

      • Jodi is wise. Go manage more mischief. Remember you are loved and that happiness is found in the journey. XOXO

  3. Love this! Great quotes Brooke!

    • Glad you liked them, thanks! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

