Posted by: brookenado | January 1, 2016

Thanks for a Geektastic Year, 2015

Dear readers,

Happy New Year!

A lot happened  in 2015 around the world, and like a microscopic scale of that my year personally had both moments of greatness and moments of not so great-ness.  When it came to fandom, however, 2015 was a good year.

As geeks we had a lot to nerd out about – from cons and announcements, to movies, shows, games, and more.

Let’s take a look at the highlights:

  • Fresh on everyone’s mind is the long-awaited, most-highly anticipated reboot of the year, Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  Did it live up to its (actually very well-controlled) hype?  You bet the Millennium Falcon it did.  Who else is ready to start the New Year with another viewing?
  • Marvel.  Are they ambitious in their MCU plans?  Maybe, but I for one am a fan!  2015 saw both the second installment of the Avengers films hit the screen, Age of Ultron, as well as the introduction to Ant Man.  Say what you will of either, maybe they’re not perfect films and I’m not particularly well-versed in the source material, but I really enjoyed both.  I love the characters, the humor, the optimism, and the awesome action sequences depicted as they are in the MCU.
  • The final season of Parks and Recreation aired early in 2015 and it was absolutely perfect.  I had only started catching up and following the show the year before and it quickly became one of my favorites.

Goodbye Leslie Knope & gang, 2016 won’t be the same without you.

  • I admit that I’m behind the times in video games as I don’t currently own my own system, nor have a computer up to par for those bad boys.  I’m stuck in original Wii Land and Nostalgia Xbox & N64 Land, slowly catching up on some games from the last couple of years with my brother’s (currently not working) PS3.  However I’ve watched (occasionally helped) my brother play some of 2015’s most anticipated games.  Favorite PS4 game released this year I’ve actually seen and played?  Batman: Arkham Knight.  Other franchises that saw new games come out last year included Metal Gear Solid, Fallout, Assassin’s Creed, Battlefront, and of course, some classics with Super Mario Maker, Legend of Zelda, and more.
  • We went Back to the Future on October 21st to catch up with Marty McFly and Doc Brown.  Where are our hoverboards?  Let’s get on that, 2016.
  • Comic Con.  Nerd Con. Star Wars Celebration.  Cosplay.  Panels.  Signings. And everything else in between.  Getting together with nerdy friends and making some new ones.
  • Disney/Pixar.  There was Inside Out, the new live action adaptation of Cinderella, and The Good Dinosaur.  I haven’t seen the latter yet, however Inside Out was a very well-concepted, heartfelt addition to Pixar’s shelf and Cinderella was wonderfully joyous; simplistic in the best way possible and a truly charming gem in what seems like an overly saturated market these days of explicitly gory, etc. approaches, and/or apocalyptic visuals.  Simply have courage and be kind.

Speaking of apocalyptic, let’s take a look at my 2015 geekdom fails:

  • The final segment of the Hunger Games films came out and despite being a fan of the books and the movies, I still haven’t seen it.  Fail.
  • Mad Max: Fury Road found an entirely new fanbase (at least according to my Tumblr dashboard) and despite what surprised me as very positive reviews from many, especially fellow female geeks, I still haven’t seen it.  Fail.
  • Jurassic World rebooted the classic and well-loved Jurassic Park series.  It set box office records last summer.  It has Chris Pratt.  It has dinosaurs.  I still haven’t seen it.  Epic fail.

I know, I’m sorry.  Please don’t hurt me.

Aside from films and a few t.v. shows, some of my favorite fandom parts of the year that define 2015 for me came not from new releases but in discovering pre-existing shows.

#NewXPhile

  • Yes, prompted by the show’s upcoming return I finally discovered the X-Files and had the ongoing goal since May to catch up on the entire series before the newest episode airs.  I won’t go much into detail here because there is a whole post and omgXFileskeyboardsmash-ness coming your way, but suffice it to say for now that I’m so glad I finally did jump on this conspiracy-aliens-government-unexplained phenomena-lovable duo-quest for the truth.  I want to believe.

#SixSeasonsAndAMovie

  • Community.  I don’t know why I never watched this show before 2015 because it’s amazing.  I’d always enjoyed the random episodes I had seen on t.v., and had started to record them so I could begin watching regularly when it so happened that I needed to finally bite the bullet and pay for a subscription service like Netlix or Hulu to continue watching the X-Files (I know, like a crazy person I’ve lived without either until now).  My decision between the two was based solely on which had both of these shows and I have kind of been in love with Community ever since.

#CrystalGems

  • I love a good animated show.  I’m of the opinion they often offer more depth, better writing, and more humor when compared to many other ‘grown up’ shows on t.v. these days.  So recently prompted by excellent reviews and the gap left in my heart from the finale of the Legend of Korra at the end of 2014, I’ve started my journey into the world of Steven Universe.  I’ve been catching up on the first season and I have nothing but good things to say about this show.  It’s happy and sad, goofy and serious, and it fits an incredible amount of character and story depth into its 11-minute episodes.

More on each of these to come, I’m sure…

So, was 2015 a pretty great year to be a geek or what?  And the best part?  It’s just going to keep on going.  2016 already looks to be just as, possibly even more exciting a year for us.

Case in point?  Tonight BBC Sherlock is #221Back!

So full speed ahead – bring it, New Year!  2016 Geek Look Ahead post pending.

Thanks for reading, cheers, and be sure to leave a comment with your favorite 2015 geek happenings!  Until then…

Mischief managed

Responses

  1. Dude! Community is life! And the new AC Syndicate is quite fun, plus, LADY ASSASSIN!!!

    I need your PS4 (and Xbox?) tag! I’ll add you! Text it to me and we can play games online! Destiny is fun, though perhaps a bit difficult. But I’m learning it, and enjoying learning it!

    • COMMUNITY!! And I’ve always been curious about the Assassin’s Creed games, they look awesome. The bro’s been on the fence about Destiny, having heard some mixed things but maybe we’ll check it out soon. Will send over the PS4 tag! 🙂

      • Destiny is fun! Great multiplayer! Only issue I have is it requires an Internet connection. Also if you get it we could go on missions together!!!

      • I’d be so down for that! Ok, going to be keeping my eyes out for the next PS4 sale… 😀

      • Used at GameStop it’s like 14.99 but doesn’t include the DLC “The Taken King”

      • Oh, nice! That’s not bad at all – and I’m guess you can always add on the DLC via the PS network…


Leave a Reply

Categories

Musings of an X-Phile

It's what obsessed people do... X-Files Episode Reviews En Masse

Ambiguous Pieces

Books, Baking, Distractions and Feminist Rants

Crazy 4 Comic Con

Tips on the San Diego Comic-Con and other conventions

Fancastic TV

Geek TV reviews, recaps and more!

The Nerdy Girlie

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Joie Fatale : Confessions of a Book Pimp

So grab your towel and don't panic!

Nerdheart

Wear your nerdheart on your sleeve...

Three Chic Geeks

For the nerdy and proud. Warning: spontaneous geekgasms may occur.

James Gillingham - Long Arm Films

Thinking thoughts and making films

